Sir Mark Jones – (Chairman)

Sir Mark Jones FRSE was Curator of Medals at the British Museum [1974-1992], Director of the National Museums of Scotland [1992-2001, Director of the V&A [2001-11] and Master of St Cross College, Oxford [2011-2016]. He has written extensively on the history of the medal, fakes and forgeries, collecting and museums, and restitution. He is a Visitor of the Ashmolean Museum and a trustee of Tullie House, the Corning Museum of Glass, Compton Verney, the Watts Museum, the Grimsthorpe and Drummond Trust and the Historic Environment Scotland Trust.

Michael Baughan

Michael Baughan had a successful career in finance and, after working for Lazard Brothers for 33 years, retired as a Managing Director in 1999. He was a Governor of the Royal Hospital and Home for Incurables from 1978 to 1987 and on the Committee of the Heath and Hampstead Society from 1996-2002. He is a Lay Member of the Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal and was the Lay Vice President from 2004 to 2010. He is a Governor of Collegiate School and Westminster School and is the Honorary Treasurer of the Westminster School Society. He is also a member of the Garrick Club Investment Committee.

Professor Sir Colin Blakemore

Professor Sir Colin Blakemore of the University of Oxford and the School of Advanced Study, London, is an eminent neuroscientist and a former Chief Executive of the Medical Research Council. He was awarded the Royal Society’s Michael Faraday Prize for his outstanding work in public communication. As a presenter and writer of science programmes, he has contributed to many radio and television broadcasts, including “The Mind Machine” series on the BBC. His research includes work on vision, stroke, Huntington’s disease and the early development of the brain. He is a Commissioner of the UK Drug Policy Commission and is involved with the work of several medical charities.

Lady Riddell LVO

Sarah Riddell has a background in journalism and arts publishing. She has served as non-executive director and vice-chairman of the Hammersmith Hospitals NHS Trust. For many years she was a lay member of both local and national research ethics committees, and was also on the expert medicine group advising the government on safety in clinical trials. She is currently chairman of the John Ellerman Foundation and trustee of the Sir James Knott and Castle Auckland Trusts.

Sarah Staniforth CBE

Sarah Staniforth CBE is President of IIC (International Institute for Conservation of Historic and Artistic Works), and a Trustee of the new English Heritage charity, the Landmark Trust and the Hunterian Museum at the Royal College of Surgeons. She is a member of the Heritage Lottery Fund South West Committee, Westminster Abbey Fabric Commission and Gloucester Diocesan Advisory Committee. She sits on the panel for the Pilgrim Trust – Association of Independent Museums conservation awards. She previously held a number of roles at the National Trust from 1985-2014, including Historic Properties Director, Museums and Collections Director, and Director of National Trust Enterprises and Historic House Hotels.

 Kevin Pakenham

Kevin Pakenham is co-founder and director of Pakenham Partners, the specialist corporate finance adviser. He is chairman of the trustees of the Longford Trust and was a trustee of the Ireland Fund of Great Britain between 1989 and 2009, serving as honorary treasurer during that time. He has worked in finance since 1972, as an international economist, investment manager and corporate financier. He has served on many investment boards and committees, including currently, The Pearson Group Pension Plan, Aberdeen Japan Investment Trust and St Antony’s College, Oxford University.

Caroline Butler

Caroline Butler is the founder of Walcot Partners Ltd, an FCA authorised investment adviser, CIO of a significant international family partnership and investment adviser to university endowments. During her career in banking based in London and New York, Caroline was Head of UK Private Wealth Management at DeutscheBank and the first woman elected to the Board of S.G.Warburg in 1984. Currently she is an Associate Fellow of Green Templeton College, Oxford and member of their Investment Committee, a Trustee of the ArtFund, an Advisory Board member of the Official Monetary and Financial Institutions’ Forum, a member of the Investment Committee of Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford, and Chair of the China Children and Teenagers’ Fund UK’s Advisory Council.

David Barrie CBE

David Barrie worked as a deck hand before serving in the Diplomatic Service and the Cabinet Office. He then moved into the arts, first as Director of The Japan Festival 1991 and then Director of the Art Fund. He has been a trustee of Butterfly Conservation, the Ruskin Foundation and the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council. He chaired Make Justice Work and has advised Chatham House on drug policy reform. An experienced sailor, he is the author of ‘Sextant, A Voyage Guided by the Stars and the Men Who Mapped the World’s Oceans’ a book about the history of celestial navigation.

Simon Antrobus

Simon Antrobus has been appointed Chief Executive of BBC Children in Need from 1 November 2016. Previously he was the Chief Executive for Addaction, and before that was Chief Executive of Clubs for Young People – now called Ambition. He has worked in both the voluntary and public sector and has held senior positions in a number of organisations including Scope and Parkinson’s UK. He has chaired a national inquiry on behalf of the Centre for Social Justice, leading a commission which produced ‘Dying to Belong’ – a comprehensive report into street gangs in the UK. He also chaired the ACEVO sponsored Public Health Commission, acted as Chair of the National Council of Voluntary Youth Services and completed a term as a non-executive director of CAP – the Community Alcohol Partnerships programme.